Seikilos Focus Fellowship

Michael Kurth

Michael Kurth is 2017's recipient of the Seikilos Focus Fellowship, awarded to a composer. 


Michael Kurth (b. 1971) has been a member of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra bass section since 1994. The Orchestra has given world premieres of four of his orchestral works, May Cause Dizziness in 2011 under Roberto Abbado, Everything Lasts Forever in 2013 under Music Director Robert Spano. Prometheus Unhinged in 2015 under Joseph Young, and A Thousand Words in 2016 under Robert Spano. His fifth Atlanta Symphony Orchestra commission will be premiered in spring 2018.

Kurth has been commissioned twice by the Atlanta Chamber Players. Other groups that have performed his works include the Atlanta Young Singers, the Peachtree String Quartet, the Franklin Pond String Quartet, Concert Artists Guild-award-winning violist Jennifer Stumm, the Georgia Sinfonia, the Atlanta Community Symphony Orchestra, the Georgia State University Wind Ensemble and modern dance company gloATL.


AIR Serenbe supports artists of every discipline through our Focus Fellowship awards, nominated annually by our National Advisory Council—esteemed peers and experts in the field.  Focus Fellowships provide the opportunity for individuals, corporations, and other organizations to directly support artists and their influence on building healthy, creative communities. Funders of these awards have the chance to name the fellowship and to work closely with AIR Serenbe to determine what kind of artists (discipline, geography, demographic, subject) the fellowship will serve.  

To learn more about establishing a Focus Fellowship, contact AIR Serenbe Executive Director Brandon Hinman at